Our people

“It is a great honour for me to serve as chair of Moorfields Eye Charity. Charitable giving has an increasingly important role to play in helping Moorfields Eye Hospital to achieve its vision ‘to be the world-leading international centre in the care and treatment of eye disorders, driven by excellence in research and education.’ Thank you very much for supporting Moorfields and for your interest in our work.”

Mervyn Walker, chair of Moorfields Eye Charity

Moorfields Eye Charity is an independent charitable organisation with its own board of trustees, nine of whom have been elected with the other four appointment by Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. Below is a profile of our senior management team and our trustees.

Our senior management team

 Robert Dufton - Chief Executive 

Robert has over 30 years’ experience in charity leadership. Previously he was Director of Campaigns at the University of Sheffield and Director (CEO) of the Paul Hamlyn Foundation. He is a Council member of the Arts & Humanities Research Council and an Honorary Visiting Senior Fellow of City, University of London’s Cass Business School. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Bristol for his work in the fields of philanthropy and fundraising.

 Gordon Burns - Director of Finance and Resources
 Rachel Jones - Director of Development
Ailish Murray - Director of Grants and Research  

Our trustees

 Andrew Ballheimer - Investment Committee Andrew is a qualified solicitor and global managing partner for Allen & Overy. He has also held senior roles at Allen & Overy in New York and in Tokyo. Andrew is a member of the Investment Committee. 

 Sir Thomas Boyd-Carpenter KBE - Grants CommitteeSir Thomas joined the NHS on his retirement from the Army and served as chairman of Moorfields Eye Hospital. He has held senior positions in the public and private sectors, including chairman of the Social Security Advisory Committee, chair of the Lord Chancellor’s Advisory Board on Family Law and director of People in Business. Sir Thomas is a member of the Grants Committee.

 Tony Briam - Chair of Audit and Risk CommitteeTony is a solicitor specialising in real estate, who retired as a partner of Clifford Chance in 2014. He chairs the Audit and Risk Committee and is also a trustee of CORE (a medical research charity).
Noland Carter - Chair of Investment Committee  
Noland has worked in the investment management industry for more than 33 years, and is currently head of Heartwood Investment Management and its chief investment officer. Noland chairs the Investment Committee. 

Lee-Ann Coleman PhD - Chair of Grants CommitteeLee-Ann trained as a neuroscientist and held postdoctoral positions in the United States and at Oxford. Having left academia for scientific administration, she is now director of biomedical grants and career policy at the Academy of Medical Sciences. She is also an external assessor for the European Association of Research Managers and Administrators. Lee-Ann chairs the Grants Committee. 

Declan Flanagan FRCS FRCOphth - Grants CommitteeDeclan is a consultant ophthalmologist, who specialises in medical retina treatments. He is also Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust's medical director, responsible for the professional leadership of the hospital's doctors, and for the quality and safety of our clinical care. Declan is a member of the Grants Committee.


 Professor Ian Grierson - Grants CommitteeIan is currently emeritus professor of ophthalmology in the department of Eye and Vision Sciences, University of Liverpool and a fellow of the Royal Society of Pathologists. He also holds an honorary professorship in optometry at the University of Wales. Ian is a member of the Grants Committee and chair of the Scientific Advisory Panel.
Vicky Hastings - Investment and Fundraising and Communications CommitteeVicky has worked in the investment management industry for nearly 30 years and held positions including chief investment officer at Merrill Lynch Private Investors and investment director at JO Hambro Capital Management. She left her last executive role in 2010 and has worked as a non executive since then in both the profit and non-for-profit sectors. Currently, she is an Independent Non Executive Director of both JP Morgan Asset Management International Ltd and JPMorgan Asset Management UK Ltd and also sits on the board of two investment trusts. Vicky is a member of the Investment Committee and the Fundraising and Communications Committee.

Michael Izza - Audit and Risk CommitteeMichael is the CEO of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales. Previously he was the finance director and then the chief operating officer. He is a chartered accountant by background.

Rob Jones PhD - Grants CommitteeRob is a distinguished physiotherapist and governor of Moorfields Eye Hospital. He has co-authored a series of books on management and leadership for allied health professions and is an experienced lecturer and masterclass/workshop lead at national and international levels on professional and management/leadership topics and external service reviews. Rob is committed to excellence in all aspects of healthcare service provision. He is also a Moorfields patient.

Colin MacLean OBE - Audit and Risk CommitteeColin trained as a veterinarian, before moving into business with Unilever. He held senior positions at Glaxo, before joining the Meat and Livestock Commission as technical director and then director general. He was appointed non-executive director of Berkshire Health Authority and subsequently became chair of the Royal Berkshire and Battle Hospitals NHS Trust, where he led the hospitals to foundation status. He is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.
Johanna Moss - Fundraising and Communications CommitteeJo joined Moorfields Eye Hospital in July 2015 as director of strategy and business development and led their recent work to refresh their five year strategy, Vision of Excellence. Jo's responsibilities include strategy development, capital investment and development, annual planning, business development, marketing and communications, external relations, and corporate and social responsibility. Jo was previously deputy director of strategic development at UCLH NHS Foundation Trust.

David Probert - Fundraising and Communications CommitteeDavid is chief executive of Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. He was previously director of strategic development at University College London NHS Foundation Trust and chief operating officer at the Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust. He is a member of the Fundraising and Communications Committee.


Dr Virginia Spence-Jones - Fundraising and Communications CommitteeVirginia is a maxillofacial surgeon. She is also a trustee of The Friends of Moorfields and sits on the Fundraising and Communications Committee.
Professor Sir Eric Thomas - Chair of Fundraising and Communications Committee Sir Eric is an academic clinician (gynaecologist) and was previously the vice chancellor of the University of Bristol. Prior to that Sir Eric was dean of medicine and life sciences at the University of Southampton. In 2004 he published the Thomas Report for the Government on fundraising in higher education and then went on to lead Bristol's £100m centenary fundraising campaign. He is currently senior counsel with Graham Pelton Inc, the international fundraising consultancy, and also a governor of the University of Arts London.

Mervyn Walker - Chair of Moorfields Eye CharityMervyn was most recently group HR director for Mondi plc and Anglo American plc. He now holds a number of non-executive positions, including as board member of HMRC and chair of the UK Pensions Schemes for Amec Foster Wheeler plc. Mervyn chairs the Moorfields Eye Charity Board and is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.